Search This Blog

Saturday, July 4, 2015

NJACT Perry Award Nominations Coming August 1st


NJACT Perry Award Nominations

This year’s Nominations Ceremony for the NJACT Perry Awards will be hosted by The Somerset Valley Players on Saturday, August 1, 2015.  The ceremony will begin at 2:00PM with light refreshments being served. 

Somerset Valley Players is located at:

689 Amwell Rd
Hillsborough Township, NJ 08844
Admission: $5 (cash only)

Theaters should send their representatives to receive the Perry Award invitations for each of their nominees.

Award Ceremony
The 2015 Perry Awards Ceremony will be Sunday, September 20, 2015 at the Doubletree by Hilton Somerset Hotel and Conference Center 200 Atrium Drive, Somerset, NJ 08873 This year's theme will be "Black & White"! Get out your big hats, your white spats and let's have a ball! Online ticket ordering will be available, look for more details immediately following the nomination ceremony on August 1st.

A bit of History
The NJACT Perry Awards are given for outstanding achievements in New Jersey Community Theater. At the beginning of each season, NJACT Member Theaters submit their shows for award consideration. Two NJACT Reviewers attend each production, evaluate all on-stage aspects of the performance, and provide separate numerical scores for over 50 different criteria across 10 different review categories. More than 200 shows produced by theater companies around the state are submitted each year, which require over 400 reviews by trained NJACT volunteers.

NJACT bestows Perry Awards in 33 performance and technical categories based on NJACT reviewer scores. Candidates with the top seven scores in each category are considered nominees. The nominee with the highest score in each category receives the Perry Award.

There are also four Special Perry Awards available each year: Community Theater of the Year Award, the Lifetime Achievement Award, the David P. McMenemie Award, and the Perry Award for Outstanding Stage Management. Candidates for these awards are nominated by members of the community, and the recipient is determined by NJACT Board vote of those nominated.

No comments:

Post a Comment